Twyg presents the launch of the fourth annual Twyg Sustainable Fashion Awards

Twyg returns this year with the fourth annual Sustainable Fashion Awards continuing to celebrate and support designers who use best practice to help change fashion. If you are implementing sustainable, circular and regenerative approaches to your design(s), Twyg invites you to enter the relevant category of your choice. Entries are open from now until 11 October 2022.

How to enter:

You do not have to submit garments or prepare a portfolio: A Twyg entry form (formulated in collaboration with Eco Standard South Africa) has been created where you can simply fill in the required details for your chosen category. Click here:

Once you’ve completed your form send it to


Please ensure you understand the awards criteria and choose your category carefully, as we’re only accepting one nomination per brand/designer.

Winners of the Awards 2021 may not enter for 2022.

Submissions will be judged against the criteria for each category (see below) and will be rated between 1 and 5 for the sections detailed in the entry forms. We expect entrants to be able to demonstrate:

  • Photos of finished, quality fashion garments, accessories and/or collections;
  • Ethical labour practices;
  • Transparency in design and manufacturing practices and sourcing of materials;
  • The extent to which materials have been sustainably sourced;
  • Besides the student category, designers, businesses or brands should have been operating for at least 2 years, and should have made new garments/collections in the last 12 months and before September 2022;
  • The awards are open to designers living in South Africa.

The categories for 2022:

  • Student Award
  • Accessory Award
  • Innovative Design and Materials Award
  • Trans-seasonal Award
  • Nicholas Coutts Award
  • Retail Award
  • Influencer Award
  • CMT and Manufacturer Award (Introduced 2021)
  • Textile Makers and Mills Award (Introduced 2021)
  • Changemaker Award presented by Country Road (This category is not open to entrants)


Country Road will be awarding a prize of R100 000.00 for the Changemaker winner. The winner of the Nicholas Coutts Award receives R10 000 from Nicholas’ family. All category winners receive an assessment from Eco Standard South Africa.

Winners will be announced on 17 November 2022 at an event at the Mount Nelson hotel.  For more information visit or email